Log in

Member Login


                           Who Are We

Our Community

Join Our Community

We are as strong as our Members, Partner Organizations & those that care deeply for K-12 Earth System Sciences education 

We thank You for your support, allowing us to Advocate Earth System Sciences for ALL & create top Professional Development for ES Teachers

Join us today and be a part of a Strong Community of those passionate for about Earth 

Become a Member     


A Legacy of Excellence

We respectfully acknowledge the passing of those that greatly impacted NESTA

Without them, NESTA would not be what it is today

Forever our friends, colleagues & fellow supporters of ESS

We miss their smiles, laughter & passion for our Earth

We are so grateful our pathways crossed

Howard was an amazing advocate, someone who would always enthusiastically help and provide ideas/opinions, and a treasure trove of information.  His loss will be felt by me, as I often looked to him for conversation and a mentoring ear - David Thesenga

Longtime member, Howard served on the NESTA Board, President ('96-'98) and Treasurer & Merchandise Coordinator ('08-'21)  Appointed as a NESTA Fellow (2003); awarded Thomas B. Ervin Distinguished Service award (2007), Jan Woerner & Harold B. Stonehouse Lifetime Achievement Award (2015). and NESTA "Certificate of Service (2016)

Howard worked closely with the Massachusetts Marine Educators. At the time of his passing was a member of the current MME Board of Directors and the MME "Flotsam and Jetsam" Editor .  He received the MME Award of Distinction in 2003 

An additional appointment was as NSTA Conference Facilities Coordinator - 2010 - 2016

Sharon was an active member of NESTA, being awarded  the Thomas B. Ervin Distinguished Service Award in 1993 and the Jan Woerner & Harold B. Stonehouse Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013, in San Antonio. She was honored as a NESTA Fellow in 1994.

She originated the concept of "Share-athons," in 1985 after being challenged by Jan Woerner to come up w/ session for NSTA Cincinnati. By many people who knew her, share-athons are lovingly referred to as "Sharon-thons." Many ESTAs continue this session at their meetings.Sharon was the first elected President of NESTA,1986-88. For our NESTA Rock Raffles, Sharon was an annual donor of spectacular geologic specimens.

As her health deteriorated, Sharon, in a wheelchair, continued to attend NESTA events until perhaps the past 4-5 years. At conferences, NESTA member, Jeff Callister, would pilot her wheelchair. 

  • NESTA SW Regional Director
  • NESTA Fellow - 2018 (posthumous)
  • Thomas B. Ervin Distinguished Service Award - 2018 (posthumous)

Harold Stonehouse

Harold Stonehouse is NESTA's founder / 1st Executive Advisor; & founder of now defunct California ESTA. He dedicated his life towards advocacy of ES & formation of our prominent organization

Awardees are called to the same dedication of duty towards ES advocacy, for which there are many forms

May "Stoney's" legacy live on

                AGU 100 Logo                                                  American Meteorological Society Logo

                    NOAA logo         

American Geosciences Institute logo

 Stay Connected:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software